The province of Ciego de Avila, holds in its territory a wide range of proposals for leisure, with unique nature, traditions and history of past times.
With an area of nearly 7,000 square kilometers -including the islands that make up the adjacent cays zone-, filled with flat and fertile land that cover the territory, all vital for agriculture.
Among the historical elements in its geography is the so-called Júcaro to Moron Path, considered one of the most important military monuments in the Caribbean and the greatest 19th century Spanish fort on the island and Latin America.
Its construction, carried out between 1871 and 1872, had the precise goal to cut the passage of the Cuban Liberation Army in their advance towards the western portion of the country and prevent the spread of war to those territories.
The origin of this work goes back to the time of General Blas Villate de la Hera, Count of Valmaseda, who proposed the Overseas Minister of the Spanish Crown to build a trail or fortified line from the port of Júcaro, on the southern coast to the town of Moron on the north coast of the territory.
With 68 kilometers long length -similar breadth of the province of Ciego de Avila- it represented a singular defensive project in depth, with an extensive network of facilities and establishments for the rapid deployment of troops.
In the beginning, three steps were part of the scheme of the trail, the first one with outposts of about 2,000 men - who were guarding the roads, while the second was leaning against 60 forts, protected by numerous obstacles.
However, the ineffectiveness of the work led to its strengthening in the late 19th century, when it already had 68 forts, 401 listening posts, in addition to fences and ditches, with a railway along its length for the movement of up to 26 artillery pieces.
Fortification never achieved the desired result, and since around 1995 this historic stage was declared a national monument, when a kilometer was rebuilt with the original features.
Also, among the key cultural pieces stands out the Principal Theater, which construction ended in 1927 and is considered by experts as one of the best acoustics in the Cuban archipelago.
Along with that, in the province´s surroundings are the church of San Eugenio de la Palma, the capital city patron, the House of Culture, the Art Gallery and the traditions of the Jamaica neighborhood in Baraguá, the Majagua parties plus the extravaganzas of Chambas and Punta Alegre.
The region treasures important water reservoirs like the lagoons La Redonda (4.5 sq km), ideal for trout fishing, and La Leche (67 kilometers are located squares).
The latter, with about 130 million cubic meters of water, owes its unique name to the sedimentation of calcium sulfate covering its background, which gives a peculiar color to the water it holds.
Some of its permanent channels are the Caonao river, which is 133 km long and is the natural border in the northeast between the provinces of Ciego de Avila and Camagüey, and Jatibonico del Norte, which establishes the division in the northwest with the neighboring Sancti Spiritus city.